European Union-Latin America and the Caribbean Business Round Table

European Union-Latin America and the Caribbean Business Round Table


Opening Remarks

Ursula von der Leyen

President of the European Commission (2019-2024)

Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva

President, Federative Republic of Brazil

Pedro Sánchez

President of the Government of Spain

Ilan Goldfajn

President Interamerican Development Bank

Segio Diaz- Granados

Presidente Ejecutivo de CAF


Energy Transition: Sustainable Solutions for All

Frans Timmermans

First Vice President, European Commission

Tim Oliver Holt

Member of the Executive Board, Siemens Energy AG (Germany)

Paolo Scaroni

Chairman, ENEL (Italy)

Antonio Pinheiro Silveira

Manager of Infrastructure and Digital Transformation, CAF

Elbia Gannoum

CEO, ABEEólica (Brazil)

Philip Julien

Chairman, Kenesjay Green Limited (Trinidad and Tobago)

Mario Ruiz Tagle

CEO Spain, Iberdrola (Spain)

Rodrigo Madrazo Garcia de Lomana

CEO, EDFI Management Company


Sustainable and Inclusive Economic Integration: Opportunities for Growth

Marcelo Behar

Vice President for Sustainability & Group Affairs, Natura & Co. (Brazil)

Carlos Rey de Vicente

Regional Head of South America, Banco Santander (Spain)

Maria Alexandra Moreira Lopez

Secretary General, Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization (OTCA)

Frederik Persson

Chairman, Business Europe

Rafael Clavijo

Founder, Parque Ecológico Mundo Amazónico (Colombia)

Alfonso Garcia Mora

Regional Vice President, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, IFC

Esther Lynch

General-Secretary, European Trade Union Confederation

Ana María Ibáñez

Vice President for Sectors and Knowledge, Inter-American Development Bank


Bridging the Gap: Unlocking Investment Potential in the Caribbean

Jean-Noël de Charentenay

VP Strategy, HDF Energy (France)

Deodat Maharaj

Executive Director, Caribbean Export Development Agency

Warsha Sharon Sarjoe

Executive Committee Member, CARICOM Private Sector Organisation (CPSO) & CEO, Rudisa International N.V. (Suriname)

Elizabeth Mena

President, ADOEXPO, Vice President, Mining Dominican Corporation (Dominican Republic)

Lilia Burunciuc

Country Director, Caribbean, World Bank

Hyginus Leon

President, Caribbean Development Bank


Critical Raw Materials and E-Mobility

Luis Castilla

CEO, Acciona Infrastructure (Spain)

Claudia López

Mayor of Bogota, (Colombia)

Geoff Streeton

Chief Development Officer and Member of the Executive Committee, Eramet (France)

Patricia Vasconcelos

CEO, CaetanoBus (Portugal)

Andrés Rebolledo Smitmans

Executive Secretary, Latin AmericaEnergy Organization (OLADE)

Renato Villar

Founder, Voltz Motors (Brazil)

Christian Asinelli

Vice President, CAF

Special Address by EU & LAC High-level Representatives

Charles Michel

President of the European Council

Ralph Gonsalves

Ministry of Finance, National Security, Grenadines Affairs and Legal Affairs


Linking Up: Fair Digital Transition and Last Kilometre Connectivity

Josep Borrell Fontelles

High Representative of Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy / Vice-President of the European Commission

Paula Bogantes

Minister of Science, Innovation, Technology and Telecommunications, Costa Rica

Federico Guillén

President of Network Infrastructure (Finland)

Eduardo Navarro

Chief Corporate Affairs & Sustainability Officer, Telefónica S.A. (Spain)

Chafic Nassif

President, North & Central Latin America and the Caribbean, Ericsson (Sweden)

Miguel Ángel Panduro

CEO, Hispasat (Spain)

Luis Ureta

Executive Vice President, Globant Europe (Argentina)

Irene Arias Hofman

Chief Executive Officer, IDB Lab


Sustainable Financing in LAC: Scaling up the Sustainable Bond Market

Azucena Arbeleche

Minister of Economy and Finance, Uruguay

Gustavo Manrique Miranda

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Human Mobility of Ecuador

James Scriven

CEO, IDB Invest

Ricardo Mourinho Félix

Vice-President, European Investment Bank

Javier Rodríguez Soler

Global Chief Sustainability Officer, BBVA (Spain)

Fuensanta Cobacho Diaz

Head of Structured Finance Americas, Intesa Sanpaolo (Italy)

Ian Johnston

Vice President, Head of Corporate Finance, Liberty Latin America

Koen Doens

Director-General for International Partnerships, European Commission


Enhancing Health Resilience

Chrysoula Zacharopoulou

Minister of State for Development Francophonie and International Partnerships

Martin Seychell

Deputy Director General for International Partnerships, European Commission

James Fitzgerald

Director, Department of Health Systems and Services, PAHO

Laura Gutierrez

VP, Head of Global Corporate Public Affairs and Policy, Sanofi (France)

Matthias Berninger

VP, Head of Global Corporate Public Affairs and Policy, Sanofi (France)

Bill Anderson

CEO, Bayer (Germany)

Camila de Pamphilis

Chief Data & Patient Experience Officer, Mamotest (Argentina)

Carlos Batthyany

Executive Director, Institut Pasteur de Montevideo (Uruguay)

Mónica Assef

President, Cámara de la Innovación Farmacéutica de Chile

José Manuel Salazar-Xirinachs

Executive Secretary, Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)

Closing Remarks

Jutta Urpilainen

European Commissioner for International Partnerships, European Commission

Alicia Bárcena

Minister of Foreign Affairs of Mexico

Werner Hoyer

President, European Investment Bank

EU-LAC Business Round Table

Brussels, Belgium – 17 July 2023